Out with the old, in with the new. 

2016. A year of loss, and extreme heartbreak and pain. When I was 12, I couldn’t wait to turn 18 and go to prom and graduate from my hometown’s highschool. “In 2016, I’ll be 18 and graduated.” Never did I think a year that was supposed to be my most successful would turn out to be the most pain I’ve ever had to deal with in my entire life. Between what was going on at home, my bad luck with boys, and being an outcast in school, I never thought in a million years I could ever lose my Mother. After losing her, my life became a domino effect. I was unhappy with the family I’m staying with, Graduation wasn’t as enjoyable, and the person who I thought could never hurt me, actually hurt me so badly. I had no interest in school, and lost a lot of “friends.”  Nothing in 2016 mattered, but it showed me that I’ll always be there for myself no matter what. A life lesson is what 2016 was to me—to not trust so easily, to always cherish the good people around you because they might not be here one day, and to always love yourself. Last year might have been one of the toughest years I’ve ever had to go through, but I made it and I hope I can take the experiences and turn them into something bigger and more beautiful. Here’s to 2017! 

instagram
twitter

Leave a Reply

